Generation 8 Chapter 28

 Chapter 28

Screenshot-2

I lay there in Gene’s arms for a long time thinking about our conversation. I didn’t want to order him to perform, but I didn’t want anyone else to father my children. Would the Elders honor our promise? Or would they force me to choose a wolf?

The next morning Ilharn pointedly ignored Gene at breakfast. Gene acted as if nothing had changed between us.

“Okay, this morning we’ll meet with the Pack Elders and get this situation straightened out,” Dad announced.

“Is Gene coming with us?”

“He has to if you want him to be your mate. The Elders need to meet him.”

Screenshot-3

                The five of us piled into the car and Dad drove us to the meeting place. I sat between Gene and Ralph, consciously not touching either of them. It was the longest car ride of my life.

Screenshot-4

                I waited patiently for the Elders to approach us. Their noses wrinkled as they caught Gene’s scent.

“What is this?”

I stepped forward. “This is Gene, my Promised mate.”

“When did you Promise yourself to it?”

I took a deep breath, “We formally Promised last night, but there’s been an understanding between us for some time now.”

Screenshot-5

“Stop!” An ancient voice called. “You cannot mate with that thing!”

I turned to look as the oldest male I’d ever seen hobbled out to us. His skin was drawn so tightly against his bones, he seemed flesh colored skeleton.

“Eldest, what is your objection to this mating?”

Screenshot-6

“Boy,” he peered at me, “do you have any idea what you’ve agreed to take into your bed?” The Elders and my family looked confused.

“I know what he is, Eldest. He told me.”

“Did he tell you everything?” He scowled, “I thought the last of them were destroyed centuries ago.”

“Eldest, may I ask what you’re talking about?”

“Take a deep breath and remember that scent! For standing here before us is the ancient enemy! You see djinn petitioning to join our Pack!”

The Elders gasped as one. “Abomination! Have you actually lain with this monster?!” They cried at me. The blood ran out of my face as I beheld the fear and loathing in the Elders’ faces. Ilharn’s face was equally shocked. Dad looked confused.

 

This entry was posted in Generation 8. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment